European Politics and Institutions

Updating on political progress in Northern Ireland

6 November 2017


Since the Brexit referendum, the future of the border between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland has become unclear, with some fearing that it could become ‘hard’ again when the UK leaves the Union. All sides maintain they want to keep the border as open as possible, but in event of an exit out of the Customs Union and Single Market, this is certain to pose legal and logistical challenges. At this Sixty-minute Briefing, James Brokenshire, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, talked about the current political, economic and security situation in Northern Ireland, and possible solutions for the Northern Ireland border issue following Brexit.

In this programme


Publications
Events

Programme Team


Director of Studies

Janis A. Emmanouilidis
j.emmanouilidis@epc.eu

Project Leader of the joint EPC-Stiftung Mercator project ‘Connecting Europe’

Julian Rappold
j.rappold@epc.eu

Senior Policy Analysts

Amanda Paul
a.paul@epc.eu
Corina Stratulat
c.stratulat@epc.eu
Paul Ivan
p.ivan@epc.eu

Policy Analyst

Yann-Sven Rittelmeyer
ys.rittelmeyer@epc.eu

Programme Assistant

Paul Butcher
p.butcher@epc.eu