Europe in the World

Making Europe count


Building EU foreign policy over the past twenty years has been one of the most challenging and difficult aspects of the process of integration and, despite the innovations introduced by the Lisbon Treaty, the policy is still far from meeting the expectations of European citizens and of the rest of the world. At the same time, the EU’s role in international politics is being challenged both politically and economically. The rise of new powers, an increasingly fluid system of global governance, and the growing internationalisation of domestic politics and policies are all putting the EU under the spotlight to deliver.

The EPC’s Europe in the World Programme takes a dual approach. EU capabilities in foreign policy and its political will to play a role as a global actor are essential to understand the ways in which the Union engages with the world, by analysing the External Action Service, the use of the EU’s foreign policy tool box, and political dynamics in Europe. Through seminars, public events, and special projects, the Programme also examines the EU’s ‘performance’ in certain parts of the world (especially in the Balkans and in the EU’s neighbourhood, but also in Asia) while addressing thematic and cross-cutting issues, such as foreign policy and international migration, international justice, human rights, crisis management and peacebuilding.

EuroMeSCo

The EPC is a member of the EuroMeSCo network since October 2011. In July 2016, the EPC has been elected in the EuroMeSCo Steering Committee for the 2016-2018 period.

Egs

In December 2012, the EPC joined the EGS project.

In this programme


Publications
Reports

Programme Team


Egmont-EPC Research Fellow

Balazs Ujvari
b.ujvari@egmontinstitute.be

Senior Policy Analysts

Paul Ivan
p.ivan@epc.eu
Amanda Paul
a.paul@epc.eu

Policy Analyst

Andrea Frontini
a.frontini@epc.eu

Junior Policy Analyst

Juliane Schmidt
j.schmidt@epc.eu

Programme Assistants

Orhan Dede
o.dede@epc.eu
Francesca Fabbri
f.fabbri@epc.eu