Advisory Council

The purpose of the Advisory Council is to provide the strategic and intellectual framework for the EPC's work. It meets once a year to discuss EU strategic issues and their implications for the work and future development of the EPC. Members of the Advisory Council reflect our multi-stakeholder membership, including leading opinion formers, senior business executives, former European Commissioners, MEPs, representatives of civil society and the world of diplomacy, as well as European foundations and think tanks.

EPC Advisory Council

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard (Vice-President)

Former UK Ambassador to the EU

Erika Mann (Vice-President)

Senior Fellow, Atlantic Council; former Member of European Parliament

Joaquin Almunia

Former European Commission Vice-President for Competition

László Andor

Former European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion

Leszek Balcerowicz

Former Chairman of the National Bank of Poland

Hans Blix

Chairman, Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission

Hendrik Bourgeois

Vice President European Affairs, GE

Olivier Boutellis-Taft

Chief Executive, Federation of European Accountants

Franziska Katharina Brantner

Member of the German Federal Parliament

Vladimir Chizhov

Ambassador, Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the European Union

Marta Dassù

Director General for International Affairs, Aspen Institute Italia

Andrew Duff

Former Member of the European Parliament

Pál Dunay

Director, Teleki Laslo Institute, Budapest

Jan Eliasson

Former Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden and President of the United Nations General Assembly

José Gregório Faria

Special Adviser, Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian

Piero Gastaldo

Secretary General, Compagnia di San Paolo

Hanns Glatz

Partner, CNC - Communications & Network Consulting AG

Sylvie Goulard

Member of the European Parliament

Rolf Gustavsson

Correspondent, Svenska Dagbladet

Malcolm Harbour

Fomer Member of the European Parliament

Danuta Maria Hübner

Member of the European Parliament; former European Commissioner for Regional Policy

Connie Hedegaard

Former European Commissioner for Climate Action

Hywel Ceri Jones

Former Chairman of the EPC, Director of the Network of European Foundations (NEF)

Jan Karlsson

Former Minister for Migration and Development Cooperation; former Co-Chair of the Global Commission for International Migration

Keiichi Katakami

Ambassador, Mission of Japan to the European Union

Craig Kennedy

President, German Marshall Fund of the United States

Gerald Knaus

President of the Executive Board, European Stability Institute

Joost Lagendijk

Senior Adviser, Istanbul Policy Center

Allan Larsson

Former European Commission Director-General for DG Employment

Jo Leinen

Member of the European Parliament

Erkki Liikanen

Chairman of the Board, Bank of Finland

Alan Mayhew

Jean Monnet Professor and Professorial Fellow, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex

Rainer Münz

Head of Research & Development, Erste Bank

John Monks

Former General Secretary, European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)

Jan Niessen

Director, Migration Policy Group

Dick Oosting

Chief Executive Officer, European Council of Foreign Relations

John Palmer

Former Political Director, European Policy Centre

Anne-Sophie Parent

Secretary General, AGE Platform Europe

Petro Poroshenko

Founder of the Petro Poroshenko Foundation

Poul Nyrup Rasmussen

Former President of the Party of European Socialists, European Parliament

Olli Rehn

Vice-President and member of the European Parliament

Conny Reuter

Secretary General, SOLIDAR

Maria João Rodrigues

Member of the European Parliament; Professor of Economics at the University of Lisbon

Dennis Sammut
Director, London Information Network on Conflicts and State-Building (LINKS)
Eberhard Sandschneider

Otto-Wolff-Director, Research Institute, German Council on Foreign Relations

André Sapir

Professor of Economics, ECARES, Université Libre de Bruxelles

Witold Sartorius

President, Foundation for Economic Education (Poland)

Jacek Saryusz-Wolski

Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs

Bernadette Ségol

General Secretary, European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)

Rita Süssmuth

Former President, German Bundestag

Wolfgang Schüssel

Former Federal Chancellor of Austria

Peter Semneby

Former EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus

Jamie Shea

Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges, NATO

Larry Stone

President Group Public and Government Affairs, BT

Pavel Swieboda

President, demosEUROPA - Centre for European Strategy

Luc Tayart de Borms

Managing Director, King Baudouin Foundation

François Trémeaud

President of the Scientific Committee of the World Political Forum

Loukas Tsoukalis

President, Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy

Emilie Turunen

Former Member of the European Parliament

Baron Frans van Daele

Former Head of Staff of the President of the European Council

Zeger Vercouteren

Executive Director Government Affairs, Europe, Johnson & Johnson

Antonio Vitorino

Former European Commissioner for Justice and Home Affairs

Helen Wallace

Centennial Professor, European Institute, London School of Economics and Political Science

Graham Watson

Former Member of the European Parliament

Monika Wulf-Mathies

Policy Adviser to the Board of Management, Deutsche Post DHL; Adviser to Germany's Chancellor; former European Commissioner for Regional Policy

John Wyles

Former Senior Partner, GPlus Europe; EPC Senior Adviser